A mother’s influence

Priscilla wrote the following about her mother Catherine Bell (nee Barclay) in the introduction to Variety; or, Selections and Essays, Consisting of Anecdotes, Curious Facts, Interesting Narratives, with Occasional Reflections, published in 1809.

‘I am the eldest daughter of a very numerous family, and received my education in the paternal house, under the inspection of one of the most excellent of mothers, to whose incessant care and admirable example, I owe the foundation of any merit I possess. From my earliest years she taught me the habit of industry, and employed me, whilst a child, to assist her in instructing my younger sisters. Being thus accustomed, from my cradle, to take an interest in the improvement of children, and to watch the progress of their understandings, I have formed an habitual attachment to youth – delight in the society of young people – and an never more agreeably employed, than in contributing to their stock of knowledge and amusement’.

Published in: on June 13, 2009 at 8:42 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pw1751.wordpress.com/2009/06/13/catherine-barclays-influence/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for this. Beautiful!


Leave a Reply

